Ratliff performs '31 Depression Blues for Pine Mountain Sessions!

A double album featuring new recordings from some of Kentucky's finest musicians & writers that benefits Kentucky Natural Lands Trust & Pine Mountain Settlement School. All of these recordings are never-before-heard, and almost all of the songs & poems being presented here are previously unreleased. Order today at https://stores.portmerch.com/olkentuck/.

Pine Mountain Sessions

In a few recording sessions scattered over the autumn & winter & spring of 2017 & 2018, musicians and writers from all across Kentucky gathered on the slopes of Pine Mountain in Harlan County.  These four sides that follow the seasons were recorded in a near-century-old chapel with the aim of connecting us all to the important work of the Kentucky Natural Lands Trust and the Pine Mountain Settlement School.  Here are the artists & songs on the Double LP & CD:

SIDE A - Summer
Maiden Radio - Dawn Chorus
Carl Broemel - Moonbeam
George Ella Lyon - Meadow
The Other Years - Chapel on Pine Mountain
Marianne Worthington - Bounty
Nathan Salsburg - Ruby's Freilach / Low Spirits

SIDE B - Autumn
Wendell Berry - The Wild Geese
Brian Schreck - Abscission
Joe Manning with Glen Dentinger - Amigo
Mary Ann Taylor-Hall - Eternity
Daniel Martin Moore - Never Look Away
bell hooks & Rachel Grimes - Kentucky is my Fate

SIDE C - Winter
Warren Byrom - Black Mountain Dogs
Rebecca Gayle Howell - My Mother Told Us
Jim James - Walking in the Snow
Ansel Elkins - Hunter's Moon
The Savage Radley - Red Bird Morning
Teddy Abrams - Improv on Pine Mountain

Side D - Spring
Joan Shelley - Awake
Silas House - Easter 1954
Ben Sollee - Appalachian Chant #1
Ada Limón - On a Pink Moon
Catherine Irwin - Sugar Cubes & Glue
So It Was - One Foot at Once
Maurice Manning - Birds Arriving in Dim Light

And the digital version contains these additional artists & works:

Erik Reece - Dead Letter to Li Po
Bobbie Ann Mason - Pine Mountain
Katie Toupin - Lover Tonight
Mark Charles Heidinger - Status Quo
Brett Ratliff - '31 Depression Blues
Lydia Burrell - Hey Idiot
Lacey Guthrie & Drew English - Better Stairs
The Local Honeys - Cigarette Trees
Cheyenne Mize - Easier
Eric Scott Sutherland - Pine Mountain (A Work In Progress)
Maiden Radio - Far From the Ohio
Jason Howard - Headwaters
Jeremy Pinnell - It's OK Dear
The Ravenna Colt - Pine Mtn. Echo
Heather Summers - Red Tailed Hawk
Anna Krippenstaple - You Left Me (When I Left Kentucky)
Robert Gipe - Trampoline
Richard Taylor - Wild Turkeys
Lily Lyons - Ladybird

BONUS TRACKS only available when ordering directly from us:

Wendell Berry - The Peace of Wild Things
Ansel Elkins - Autobiography of Eve
Mary Ann Taylor-Hall - Pine Mountain
Rebecca Gayle Howell - How to Preserve
Marianne Worthington - Full Corn Moon
Richard Taylor - The Origins of Dust
Wendell Berry - Over the Edge

Album Credits:

Produced, Recorded, and Mixed by Daniel Martin Moore
Mastered by Mike Montgomery
Additional Recording by Ada Limón, Justin Golden, Brian Schreck, Keith Semmel, Jim James, and Steve Lyon
Layout by James Shambhu & Mathilde Berthe
Art Direction & Photos by DMM
Mountaintop Photo by Greg Abernathy
LP Center Labels by Zoé Strecker

Ratliff introduces Dark Holler Podcast!

Kentucky is known throughout the world for its music. Whether it be fiddle or banjo, ballads or blues, the Kentucky tradition is born of community, diverse neighbors building hope from hard-scrabble lives. Join East Kentucky native Brett Ratliff as he and his special guests explore this music's influential reach, from archival and vintage recordings to the innovative artists working today.

Listen on Soundcloud at soundcloud.com/darkhollerpodcast.